Back to my page

Blog


Quick look: Better user management with User permissions


When you work collaboratively, Netvibes Premium for Team and Enterprise is here to help you share information across all your team members. Using one dashboard, you can all listen and learn from your data in real-time. The dashboard you share can also help you act, but you may not want to allow all your team members to take actions. This is where User Permissions come into play.

NV_new_permissions

Quick background: TeamCollaboration

Exclusively available with Netvibes Premium for Team and Enterprise (compare our products here), TeamCollaboration allows teams to collaborate and share one dashboard.

Basically, this is how it works:

A Master dashboard is created and set up.

Users can then retrieve a copy of that dashboard. Any changes they make on their own copy – e.g, add a tab, create a Potion, etc. – do not affect other users’ copies.

If the Master dashboard is updated – for instance, a new tab full of Analytics is created – all copies will be updated accordingly. Of course, all personal changes users may have made on their own copies will be retained.

In other words, the Master dashboard can push information that is relevant to all team members while each member can customize their own copy as they see fit without altering their colleagues’ copies.

Now, TeamCollaboration tailored with Individual User Permissions

But this is just a simplification. Some features imply that their results are spread across all dashboards, i.e. on copies and master dashboards alike. For instance: Tagging. When a user tags an article on their copy, the tag is then automatically visible on the Master dashboard and all existing copies.

However, you may want to prevent some users from tagging and/or performing other features while allowing others to use them. Similarly, you may want to grant some users the right to connect to the Master dashboard and make changes to it.

That’s why we have User Permissions. There are 4 different roles – admin, publisher, analyst and subscriber – and each role specifies what actions can be performed or what features can be accessed.

For instance, users set as ‘analysts’ will be able to create Analytics while ‘subscribers’ will not. Those who are set as ‘publishers’ will be able to log into the Master dashboard to publish content.

With User Permissions, it is easy to assign a whole set of rights to the users of your choice. Simply define each role’s rights with your business representative and apply them to whomever you want.

To learn more about Netvibes Premium for Team and Enterprise, please contact us.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *